The short squat-looking lighthouse at Kilcredaun was built in 1827 . The light was converted to acetylene gas in 1929, allowing for it to go for periods unmonitored and was then converted to electricity. It became fully automatic in 1991, with an attendant living on site. The light was monitored via a wireless link to the CIL offices in Dublin.
The light was turned off and permanently discontinued in March 2011 after operating for over 187 years, although all of the obsolete equipment has been left in place. A stroll around the grounds of the Lighthouse allows for beautiful views of the Kerry Coastline and mountains and the iconic Rehy hill.